Reckless driving is considered a crime in Virginia. Specifically, it is class 1 misdemeanor rather than a traffic citation. For this reason, it can be difficult for those charged with reckless driving to understand the complexities of fighting this charge.
What is considered reckless driving in Virginia?
- Traveling more than 80 mph
- Going more than 20 mph over the posted speed limit
Other behaviors might also be considered reckless, such as:
- Driving an overloaded vehicle
- Failing to signal a turn or lane change
- Illegally passing another car
- …and more.
If you are charged with reckless driving, you could face the following punishments:
- A fine of up to $2,500
- License suspension up to six months
- Jail time up to 12 months
The sentence could depend on your specific situation, driving record, and even the judge that hears your case.
Unfortunately, beyond the actual punishments, you could also face high insurance premiums, job loss or lost wages, and a permanent criminal record.
If you have been charged with reckless driving, realize that you do have options.
If you can prove that your actions were not severe enough to be “reckless” you may be able to have the charged changed to a lesser offense. Using an experienced and knowledgeable traffic lawyer can help you obtain this outcome as the lesser charge can only be given at a trial. Therefore, if you want to fight this reckless driving charge, don’t go at it alone and get help from a traffic lawyer.
When it comes to handling a DUI or reckless driving charge, a traffic attorney can research your case and driving record, negotiate a lesser burden on your behalf, and prepare to go to trial.
The law offices of David A.C. Long can help you with a reckless driving charge. As an experienced litigator, Mr. Long can prepare your case for trial and help you obtain a lesser charge that can help you get your life back to normal.
Before accepting a reckless driving charge, contact a traffic lawyer and fight for your rights.